This is what we do

Policy Committee

Coordination of the overall transportation planning process for the Cheyenne Urban Area is provided by the Policy Committee of the Cheyenne Metropolitan Planning Organization. The membership of the Policy Committee includes the Wyoming Department of Transportation and elected representatives of the City of Cheyenne and Laramie County. The FHWA shall have a representative as an ex-officio members of the committee. The Policy Committee reviews and approves the overall work program and the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). The Policy Committee also makes policy determinations concerning the long- and short-range elements of transportation planning. The Policy Committee acts as the approval authority for the federally financed surface transportation projects in the urban area. Much of the coordination of the program and the discussion related to transportation issues takes place within the Policy Committee.

Cheyenne MPO Policy Committee All meetings begin at 3:00 pm unless otherwise noted. Please check back for future meetings.

August 24, 2023 Agenda Minutes
September 21, 2023 Agenda Minutes
December 6, 2023 Agenda Minutes
February 2, 2024 Agenda Minutes
March 13, 2024 Agenda Minutes
April 25, 2024 Agenda Minutes
June 12, 2024 Agenda
September 3, 2024
December 11, 2024


Voting Members

Mayor Patrick Collins, City of Cheyenne
Ralph Tarango, WYDOT District Engineer
Commissioner Linda Heath, Laramie County

Non-Voting Members

Tom Cobb, P.E., City Engineer
Justin Arnold, Laramie County Planning
Renae Jording, Transit Manager
Molly Bennett P.E., Director, Laramie County Public Works
Mark Wingate, P.E., WYDOT
Vicki Nemecek, City Public Works

This is what we do

Choose a committee

Policy Committee

The Policy Committee decides how the Federal Planning Funds (PL), Transit Planning Funds, and Federal Surface Transportation Program-Urban (STP-U) Funds will be spent within the urban area.  The Planning Committee approves the MPO Work Program & adopts plans and programs prepared by the MPO.  Voting members include City Mayor, County Commissioner, & the District Engineer of WYDOT; the three agencies that make up the MPO.

Technical Committee

The Technical Committee is comprised of Planners, Engineers, and technical members of the City, County, WYDOT, and other agencies/organizations in the Cheyenne area which have a direct interest in the development of an efficient and effective transportation system.  The Technical committee recommends to Policy Committee approval of plans and projects.

Citizens Advisory Committee

How would YOU improve transportation in the Cheyenne area? Join our Citzen’s Advisory Committee, and you’ll have a chance to assist our Transportation Planners with bringing about improvements to our area.

Bring us your concerns about biking, driving, roadway safety, pedestrian access and more, and we’ll work together at quarterly meetings to create a solution that can benefit our entire community.